The End Of Coder Influence

Zed A. Shaw

I get an email from someone who tells me that Reddit has decided to remove my book from their list of suggested readings for Python until I update the book to Python 3. They made this decision about two weeks prior to when I received the email, so I went to look at my traffic and sales to see if there was an impact. Weirdly, my sales were up and my traffic was about the same. It had no impact.

Once a year I go through my Python book and I try to convert all the code to Python 3 as a test. I do this with the eye of a total beginner, looking for things that will trip them up and cause problems. Bad error messages, confusing syntax, broken libraries, and inconsistencies. Every year I run into nearly the same problems: strings are difficult to use, error messages don’t…

View original post 1,043 more words

The End Of Coder Influence

Leave a Reply

